h1

Mommy’s Maintenance Man

August 30, 2008

One of my favorite single mommy bloggers asked recently if as a single mother we employed a “maintenance man.”  Read here not for actual handy man work around the house, more for in the bedroom. The thing is I have him, I just don’t “employ” him for that.

We have talked about it forever, flirted around, there are nights I have been tempted but I’ve never actually made that late night call.  One of the regrets I had when I got married was never sleeping with Davis.  I’ve known him since 8th grade and even back in high school we were dancing around the idea.

So what’s the problem?  Why not just satisfy the curiosity?  Our families are friends.  I don’t do casual sex.  I’m not sure I could walk away without emotional attachment.  And much as I love Davis, I love him for what he is – that guy.  You know, captain of the football team in high school, successful after but never settled down.  Still playing the field and leaving a trail of broken hearts in his wake.  The honest truth of the matter is that I like being the one girl in this town who had turned him down. 

I call Davis when I need him.  Like after an argument with Mr. Ex I didn’t want to face him alone the next morning at our daughter’s softball game.  So 9 o’clock on a Saturday morning I drug Davis out of bed onto the softball field.  He played it like a dream and made Mr. Ex crazy. 

He’s great.  We flirt, we play, we don’t cross that line.  But I’ve always wondered if it would be worth it.  Fantasises about him got me through some pretty lonely nights during the separation.  I’m a little afraid reality couldn’t live up to the hype.

3 comments

  1. Awww… give the guy a chance to live up to it. He could make your dreams come true.

    If you had regrets last time, how do you think it will be this time?


  2. I need ME one of those!


  3. maintenance man ?????????
    I think every woman needs a maintenance man.. without sounding too frisky.

    I guess you could try him out……… but….. there’s a friendship at stake here; if the both of you crossed that line.. things could be akward afterwards IF the sparks didn’t fly, so to speak.

    But.. you’ve got a good man to gain………… so the choice is yours 😉

    x

    Ps. Isn’t good knowing that he wants you but he can’t 😉



Leave a Reply

