h1

Everythings Gonna Be Alright

September 5, 2008

One of the songs I love right now is No One by Alicia Keys.  

I don’t worry cause
Everythings gonna be alright
People keep talking
They can say what they like
But all I know is everything’s gonna be alright

The song is one woman telling the world that she is going to be okay because she has her guy.  Yet I identify with the song because I’m going to be alright without a guy.  One of the things I began at the lake was believing in myself again.  Believing that despite the upheavel in my life the divorce caused everything is still going to be okay.

Back here at home, in reality, I am grateful for the reminder of the lake.  Back here at home things aren’t quite as clear as they were at the lake.  Back here at home life is challenging.

I spend my days getting the kids ready for school, on the bus, getting my baby to the sitters, then on to work before I head home to meet the bus, help with homework, fix dinner, do laundry, clean the house, get the kids in bed.  Today I had to go grocery shopping, I had put it off as long as I could.  There is no one to ask to stop and pick up a gallon of milk on their way home from work. 

Don’t feel bad for me, I’m settling in to this thing called single parenting. 

I’m making new single friends.  This is one of the things I didn’t anticipate, finding new single mother friends to go out and have fun with.  But I have found some great ones.  I now have people to go to the gym with, go to dinner with, go dancing with. 

Oh and at dinner a couple weeks ago I was flirting shamelessly with the waiter.  It’s one of my new favorite things, it’s kind of practice with a captive audience.  Towards the end of dinner my friend Mel says “you’re getting good at the flirting thing.”  My mom says flirting has always come naturally to me, I’m such a friendly person.  So another piece in the finding myself again puzzle – flirting – check.

Honestly I am having fun single but there are times I miss having a someone.  Now I just spin the iPod wheel and I can hear Alicia Keys assure me everythings gonna be alright.  Oh and this single thing does have it’s perks.

2 comments

  1. did you mail it?


  2. I met a single mom at the dunkin donuts recently and we exchanged numbers. I love my single mommy blogger friends but I would like to meet some who work out geographically.



Leave a Reply

