h1

I have arrived

October 11, 2008

Alright.  I lied.  Turns out I’m sitting in my cousin’s living room – on the property – watching the Red Sox.  He’s got cable and wifi, so since I’m sitting here I thought I would take a moment to share my first pictures with you.  These I took from my phone, I left my camera down at the other house, more later. 

This is the view our my window at Laguardia.  Did I mention I had to fly through NYC?  No matter, my arrival gate and departure gate were on the same concourse.  On the flight into Burlington I could see my family’s bay.

Let me take just a moment to mention my cab driver.  I took a taxi from the Burlington airport to the Charlotte Ferry.  He started chatting and I kept up the banter.  That’s what you do right?  You chat with your driver?  I told him I was on my way to my family property for the weekend, we were going to have a big party, blah, blah.  I wasn’t paying much attention until he says, “I was thinking I would take my motorcycle out for a ride, I could come over for the party.”  Back the truck up, there was no invitation.  You are not invited to my party, cabbie guy.  Even if you are adorable.

Ferry boats are such a great mode of transportation.  This is the Adirondack Mountains as they rise above Lake Champlain.  I wish I had gone to the back of the boat to get a picture of the Green Mountains in Vermont.  But I was too excited watching the New York landscape appear.

Finally I arrived at the property.  Dropped my bags in the house and headed for the lake.  The leaves are turning and are beautiful.

It has been a great night so far.  But I really must go.  The Red Sox are on!

One comment

  1. I hope to hear you are having a great time.



Leave a Reply

