h1

Happily Ever After

October 18, 2008

It’s Friday night and I sit alone in my bed.  I just put my girls to bed and Enchanted is still playing on my TV.  Giselle is searching for her Prince, the Prince is searching for Giselle.  So they can share true loves kiss and live happily ever after. 

Happily ever after.

Do you believe it exists?  I thought I was in love once.  I walked down the aisle, promised to love my husband through good times and bad, sickness and health, richer or poorer, til death did us part.  Turns out it only took the signature of a judge to do us part.

I’m not complaining, towards the end of our 10 years things were bad.  I was miserable.  I’m lonely now but I’m happy.  We are coming up on my one year un-anniversary.  A lot has happened in a year.  My ex remarried (not even a month after the papers were signed).  Our youngest had her first birthday.  I went on vacation by myself and had amazing sex.  And I found closure.

The thing is, after all that has happened, I still believe in it.  I still believe my Prince Charming is out there.  I still believe we will find each other.  I still believe true love exists.  I still believe I will find my fairy tale.  Yes, I am a glass half full kind of girl.  Most of the time.  Seriously, I still believe in happily ever after.  Do you?

Leave a Reply

