h1

Boston

November 22, 2008

Tonight I dropped my kids off with their father and kept driving. My bags are packed, tonight I am staying with a friend on my way to Boston. Tomorrow I will arrive in my favorite city, hopefully in time for the Christmas tree lighting at Faneuil Hall.  When I was a child my grandfather would would take us there for lunch each time we went into the city.

I will be staying with my brother and we will be hitting the town with his friends.  Including the friend who stayed with us for Christmas just after ex and I separated.  Nothing happened but flirting and the exchange of a few e-mails.  But that was enough to give me hope that there was life beyond my marriage.

Now 3 years later I am over my ex and ready to flirt again.  For one week I will be a single girl in the big city. Next week while my brother is working I will wander the city doing the touristy things.  For one week I will set down the load I carry and be the carefree girl of my youth. The one who would hold her grandfathers hand and dream of all the possibilities her life had in store.

I think I’ll go to Boston. I think I’ll start a new life, I think I’ll start it over, where no one knows my name… for a week at least.

2 comments

  1. *Sniff* You blog makes me miss New England more every time I read it. Christmas in Boston, where the Steinway stores play carols on the pianos all day long…walking through Beacon Hill it looks like a Colonial snow globe…

    *sigh* I will go back one day.


  2. I’m in Boston! Have a great trip. Bundle up it’s very cold here!!



Leave a Reply

