h1

The special day

December 24, 2008

On this day 32 years ago I was born.

As a girl growing up I always figured by this age I would be happily married, 2.5 children, big house, stay at home mom. It’s funny, that’s what I always thought I needed to be happy. While I was going through my separation and divorce I just didn’t see how I would be happy without those things.

This last year has been a year of self discovery.  I have learned to be happy as a single woman.  Early this year my brother, shortly after changing his facebook status from single to in a relationship, told me to embrace being single.  He told me to enjoy it. And I took him seriously. 

I began to get out. I got a night life (when my kids were with their Dad). I reconnected with old friends and made new ones. I went on vacation by myself. I learned to flirt again. I learned to dance. I let go of the idea that being divorced was somehow my failure.  I lost weight. I had a one night stand with a firefighter. I found closure to my marriage. I learned to drink beer. I took the T by myself. I went to the movies by myself. I sat at a bar by myself. I let go and enjoyed life.

Thanks for joining me along the way. It’s been a good year, I’ve had fun sharing it with you. I’m counting on the next year to be even better. I think there are good things in store for me.

7 comments

  1. “I let go and enjoyed life.” Is one of the best presents you could have given yourself. I can’t wait to be able to say that. Well, anyway,


  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU, HAPPY BIRTHDAY LITTLE COUNTRY GIRL, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU !!!! Enjoy your day !!!


  3. Happy Birthday to you!!

    I too grew up with the very same notion of what my adult life would be like. I envy your ability to find yourself. I still harbor so much resentment because my happily ever after failed. I am working towards embracing my life the way it is and hope to be where you are someday.

    You have much to be proud of. Enjoy your day!!


  4. I love this one! Happy birthday! I love you!


  5. Merry Christmas to you and the kids. Hope your day is wonderful and full of magic !


  6. Congratulations on your awesome year! As another divorced-six-months-before-30 girl, it brings me hope to hear that you are getting there (and where do I find a firefighter?!?!)


  7. 2009 will be your year definitely!!! 🙂



Leave a Reply

