h1

Check this girl out

December 29, 2008

This morning I got home at 8:30 after getting a few hours of sleep at a friends house.  I needed to leave in 45 minutes to meet my mother. I jumped in the shower, dressed quickly and off I went.

My mom asked me a few days ago to go shopping at the nearby city’s outlet shopping mall. It takes about an hour and half to get there, so we don’t go all that often.  I met my mom, we had breakfast, we made a couple stops along the way and arrived at the outlets shortly after lunchtime.  We spent the first hour and half with her trying on clothes at the Liz Claiborne store.  I tried sticking with her, watching her try on clothes but after the first hour I was beginning to feel the lack of sleep, the alcohol I drank last night and my lack of patience with her shopping style.

When we left that store we split up. I could not handle any more together time watching my mom try on clothes! So I began walking the sidewalk, headed for my favorite children’s clothing store, passing shoppers who were just strolling.  As I came up behind these two guys one turns, catches sight of me and I hear him say, “check this girl out,” as I walked past them.

Now I could go on about how battered my self esteem was after 10 years of an unhealthy marriage. About how my ex getting remarried not even a full month after our divorce was a real blow to my self image.

I could but let me just say this. Today I was tired, hungover, wearing a t-shirt and jeans and spent little time getting ready.  And this guy with four simple words just made my day.

3 comments

  1. Hearing those words would make my day too. It’s amazing how something so simple can have such an impact!


  2. Nice! There was a guy checking me out at Target hardcore the other day. And then one at Meijer yesterday. Both were pretty hot. I kept thinking I must’ve had something on my face or something for them to be checking me out! It was a nice feeling when I realized it was probably just because I took two minutes to do my hair and put on a little lip gloss. I just feel so schlubby and gross most days…


  3. Even though the single dad I went on a date with had to leave the next day for Kansas City, it did wonders for my self esteem, so I totally understand. Just hearing a man say “I really admire you” while simultaneously touching your hair….yeah…



Leave a Reply

