h1

Girls weekend

January 18, 2009

Here I sit, staring out the window of my brother’s apartment on Charles St.  That’s right, I am back in my favorite city – Boston.  For a girls weekend with my brother’s girlfriend.

On Saturday we went shopping on Newberry St. Then out with her friends, we hopped several bars before settling at Boston Beer Works – I am told this is the place to watch Red Sox games and hope to come back one day this summer to try it. And just like a scene from a movie towards the end of the night it started snowing. Together we walked down the sidewalk arms linked singing along to the music that wafted from the bar we were passing or laughing at a joke that is only funny after a night of drinking. 

Upon exiting our final bar after last call we noticed a driver beside a limo – and he offered us a ride. We could not pass up this opportunity up. And so we had a limo ride through the streets of my favorite city.

This morning we woke up to the sight of snow falling outside. We headed for the North Shore to meet a friend for dinner and on our way home more snow started falling. We had a great day and now we are sitting on the couch watching Sex in the City.

As a single mom you always have to be on for your kids. You always have to be available and able to change your direction at the drop of a hat. Your life is dictated by the needs of your children. This is my escape from that pressure, my outlet, my fissure. And this is just what I needed.

Tomorrow – mani and pedis. The perfect ending to my girls weekend.

5 comments

  1. I am glad you’re enjoying a fun girls weekend!You deserve it!


  2. One of these days, we’ll have to meet up and have a single mom’s night out in Boston! My new apartment is about an hour (or just a tad over) to Boston. So far, I have only been to Harvard Square (to IHOP). haha


  3. Yeah, I’m really, REALLY jealous. I’m so glad you are having a nice time.

    I feel like I can never really “enjoy” myself anywhere, when son is with SD, for fear he’s going to call with some “emergency” and make me come home…


  4. Ooh, have fun!


  5. Ahhhh, how wonderful…..Sounds like you had a blast.



Leave a Reply

