h1

Snow days and sunburn

March 6, 2009

I need the sun. My skin is pasty white and dry. The kids are stuck inside. And the days end way too early.

This weekend instead of sunlight the east coast has been blanketed in snow. The snow started Sunday night and by the time it was done there was 12 inches outside my backdoor.  Of course I wasn’t at my house any longer because we had lost power. The girls and I escaped – first to my parents house, then to the house of a friend who has a generator.

In my little country town we just aren’t prepared for snow. Today, Thursday, was the first day the kids have been to school all week, my power has been going on and off and my office didn’t even open until noon Wednesday. Hunter was out most of the day on Monday and Tuesday pulling people out of ditches and helping friends get their generators running. On Wednesday I even talked to Home Run Hitter – he was out helping people dig out.

This morning as things are finally getting back to normal I walk out to my car and find I have a flat tire. Now after three days of sitting at home, going stir crazy, dealing with sick kids – this flat tire was close to being the straw that broke my back. Instead I called my mechanic and he came out to my house. That’s right he came out, pumped up my tire and followed me back to his shop. It took him 20 minutes to patch up my tire and I was on my way. Crisis averted.

Spurred on by this small victory I decided to fight. If the sun wouldn’t come to me, I was going to it. So during my lunch I stole away to bask in the eerie glow of the fake sun. Great now I have snow and sunburn, seriously!

3 comments

  1. It’s been really pretty in TN the last couple days. It’s supposed to be in the 70’s this weekend. Strange since last weekend it snowed about seven inches. Crazy weather.


  2. Tanning beds are the devil ! We finally melted out over the weekend. Almost 70 today in Jersey.


  3. Hey, if you get a chance, could you stop by my blog? Normally I wouldn’t ask, but I have a question for all the single moms, and I would love to hear your opinion.



Leave a Reply

