h1

A night 19 years in the making

March 20, 2009

When I was in 8th grade the New Kids on the Block came to the local concert arena and I didn’t get to go. I was devastated. Like every other girl between the ages of 10 and 18, my walls were plastered with posters from the pages of Teen Beat magazine. They were the original boy band and before I had even kissed a boy I was certain that I was destined to marry Joey.

Soon after that their popularity began to wane and as I graduated from high school the group eventually disbanded.  And life moved on. Every once and awhile I would hear one of their songs on the radio and smile.  Joey and Jordan released solo albums that didn’t go anywhere and the boys were often the butt of jokes. Ex would always say “oh my wife still loves them,” and as everyone laughed I would simply smile and say, “they will always be the best boy band.”

A year ago the papers were signed and I was officially single again. A few months later an email arrived from my friend – “the New Kids are going to be on the Today Show.” I watched as they announced on live TV that they were getting back together.  They were older but so was I. It was like seeing an old friend. You may call it a coincidence but I will always know they came back to soothe my broken heart.

Then several weeks ago they added a stop in my city to their tour. I began looking for someone to go with me but for one reason or another it didn’t work out. Then last week an idea began to take seed in my thoughts – I could take my daughter. I worked out the logistics for the other kids but still I hadn’t bought tickets. I decided that Monday morning (two days before the concert) I would go to the box office and see what I could find, on a whim I checked ticketmaster. The tickets they offered were on the floor, in Row L – that’s the 12th row!! Immediately I began to jump through the VISA verification hoops to claim my tickets.

new-kids

And last night I lived a dream that had gone unfulfilled 19 years ago. Together with my daughter I stood and danced. I screamed and cheered. I stood on my chair and caught the eye of Joey who blew me a kiss. And when it was all over. When the last encore had been sung, when the confetti had floated to the ground and the stage was empty, my heart was soaring. 

I was the same girl I was in high school. I walked out of the coliseum with the realisation that girl wasn’t far away. Sure I’ve been kissed, can buy beer legally and have kids. But my life is in front of me. A life just waiting for me to start living. So in the words of my favorite song from last night…… well I guess it’s a brand new day after all… every time we hear the curtain call…  tonight… la la la la la tonight…

5 comments

  1. Congrats on your trip down memory lane! It’s nice to revisit those good memories, there aren’t always many opportunities to do so.

    I used to work security at a concert arena and saw many shows. The one show that hurt my ears more than any other, including all the heavy metal concerts, was the New Kids concert. 18,000 girls screaming their lungs out, all at the same time. My hearing was off for days after. I vowed never again.


  2. Yay! This was a great entry! And I love that song, so much!


  3. Great story. People wonder why we love them so much…that feeling you had at the end of the show, that’s why.


  4. hahaha I had a New Kids pillow case that I used to “make out with” in elementary school. I think I was in 2nd grade when they were big. After that it was Ace of Base. I’m so glad you got to relive your dream…it made me smile.


  5. NKOTB forever !!! I didn’t get to go either !



Leave a Reply

