h1

Starcrossed lovers

March 29, 2009

Have you read Twilight or seen the movie? Unless you have been hiding under a rock you know it is the story of a human girl and a vampire who fall in love.  The “lion fell in love with the lamb.” I have now watched it… well let’s just say several times since I bought the movie last weekend. I read the book back in November, I usually insist on reading the book before I see the movie.

At it’s core is a love story. A story of star crossed lovers. A couple who despite everything around them that tells them they shouldn’t be together, they cannot stay away from each other. I am a sucker for that kind of story.

My junior year in high school we were supposed to choose a poem written by a black author for english class. Then we were supposed to explain the symbolism and significance of the poem. There were some great poems chosen about slavery, war, the loss of a child but can you guess what I chose? I chose a romantic poem. The problem was, once it was time for me to present my poem there wasn’t a whole lot to say. Oh I tried to play it up like “love is universal, in any  culture” but really there wasn’t a deep meaning.

Why do I bring this up now you ask? Well I am sitting here, watching the movie… again. Because I still love romance. Despite spending ten years married to a man who believed in romancing women who weren’t his wife.  A few years into our marriage one of ex’s girlfriends from high school told him she believed they were destined to be together. A few years after that I was told that I was standing in the way of fate by the mother of ex’s first illegitimate child (not new wife). Apparently they weren’t his destiny or fate.

Despite all that, I am still a hopeless romantic. Even though I know the guy will get the girl in the end I still look forward to the newest romantic comedy. I still cry at sappy scenes. And I still expect the man in the white hat to beat the man in the black hat. Even though I know it doesn’t always work that way in real life.

I have never given up home that my prince will come on his white horse and carry me away. Ex could not take that away from me. Maybe he even gave me back my chance to believe.

3 comments

  1. I think it’s cool that you believe in romance. I’m not sure I ever did. Mostly because I won’t LET myself, for fear of getting hurt.

    I’m not going to say I’m sure your white horse is out there ready to take you away, because that’s just not me. (Don’t hate me!) It would feel fake for me to say that.

    But I will ask if you read MommyPie? And if so, have you read her this week? (If not: mommypie.wordpress.com.) Because that there is some full-fledged real-life romance shiz I can get behind!


  2. Yes, I agree, the MommyPie thing is very romantic and real!

    I loooove Twilight, but I don’t know….maybe I believe in romance and love and such. It’s hard. I admire the fact that you do, though. I really do.


  3. In real life, I don’t know. I may be too much of a realist. But there is a bit of a romantic in me as well. No matter how much I try to hate them, I still love romantic movies and books. So the romantic part of me is there, I’ve just buried it kind of deep for now.



Leave a Reply

