h1

My father-in-law asked me out

April 4, 2009

On Thursday my father held his annual fund raiser breakfast. So I got up early, took the kids to a friend’s house to catch the bus and arrived at breakfast in time to mingle with the men in high power suits. It’s one of the parts I love about being a politicians daughter.

There was one guy in particular that everytime I turned he was looking at me. Not in a creepy way, in the “hey I’m interested, are you?” kind of way. Only to me it really was creepy because he looked oddly like my ex father-in-law. I avoided the group of men he was speaking with but he couldn’t be avoided for long. There was eventually a receiving line and he introduced himself.

Several times during the breakfast we made eye contact and after the breakfast he made his way over to me. We struck up a conversation and it was nice. He’s a lawyer, very intelligent and we seem to have a lot in common. So that when he asked for my number it seemed silly not to give it to him. He’s called and left me a message. He would like to take me to dinner.

But I can’t bring myself to return his phone call. The thought of sitting across from him at dinner turns my stomach. I think this is one guy I’ll have to let slip through my fingers.

One comment

  1. Yeah, that would be strange. I don’t think I could handle that either.



Leave a Reply

