h1

A year later

August 22, 2009
A few weeks our little country girl returned to the scene of the crime. That’s right, I was back on the shores of Lake Champlain.
 
But this year was different. It was different because I was different.
 
Last year I arrived at the lake simply existing, surviving day to day. One our drive to the lake this incredible feeling came over me, I just knew something great was about to happen. I can still remember that moment, standing in the parlor of the main house when in walked four of the hottest guys I had ever seen in my entire life. That moment forever changed the course of this little country girl’s life, when an adorable member of the FDNY proved just how much fun life could be.
 
I left vowing to start living and enjoying life. When I got home I started blogging here, chronicling all the things I was doing to starting living life. It has been a good year – no, a fantastic year, a fun year.
 
This year when I arrived at the lake I sat in the parlor of the main house pondering the events of this last year of my life. And even with all that fun I still find myself searching for something. Direction. I realised the next step in my journey was to begin making goals for myself. I have spent a lot of time avoiding thoughts of the future… because… well, honestly… there is no man in my life and thoughts of a future alone were just too hard to face.
 
It was my relationship with Bobby that finally got me thinking about my future. It’s time to start making plans for the future of me and my kids, not just wait around for a man to fix things.
 
Last night someone said to me “I didn’t even recognise you.” It’s really no wonder, there have been large physical changes. But the biggest changes have been on the inside. As time has healed my pride, my self esteem, my heart, I have seen the return of my smile, my laugh, me.
So another year, another new chapter. I’ve got some exciting things coming this fall and so much to share about my summer. Come back soon…
Leave a Reply

