h1

The top of the ferris wheel

August 23, 2009

Every year the county fair comes to my small town. This year my father was invited to opening night and took one of my daughters, the other was sick so she and I stayed home. So Friday night I took her to the fair by herself. The first ride she wanted to go on had a sign that said “no single riders”. Not to be deterred she asks another girl standing near by if she would like to ride with her. And off they go.

Kids being kids, the girls spent most of the night together.

Did I mention that the other little girl was there with her single father? So most of my night was spent talking with this single father while the girls went through the fun house, rode on cars and buses and dragons, slid down the big slide and went round and round on the swings.

Toward the end of the night the girls stood in line for the ferris wheel, single dad turns to me and says “would you like to ride?” I said yes and he went and bought us tickets. 

county fair

We got to the top of the ferris wheel and it stopped to let other passengers on or off and I looked around. It was one of those “I’m the king of the world” moments. One of those, I am a single mom and life is great moments. From the top of the ferris wheel, looking out over my hometown, sitting beside a guy I had only just met – with our girls giggling in the car behind us.

Unfortunately at the end of the night as he was asking me for my number the girls were dragging us in opposite directions.

So internet I’m posing this question to you. I know where he works – he is the manager at a store I love and shop in frequently – only I usually shop at a different one – the one where he works is only 5 minutes from where I work. He did tell me I should stop by and take advantage of his discount. Would it be weird for me to stop by and give him my number? I have several pictures I took of the girls, I thought I would print one out and put my number on the back?

5 comments

  1. Go for it!


  2. I have recently stumbled across ur blog and have been completely blown away by ur honesty. I find myself drawn back here to hear more.

    Definitely go for it! i think u deserve happiness, more than most.


  3. You should definitely stop by…and the pictures are a perfect excuse. Good luck!


  4. Absolutely! Sounds like a great idea.


  5. Pictures are a good excuse. Do it!!



Leave a Reply

