h1

Back to school

August 26, 2009

I dropped out of college after my sophomore year. I was ready to get married and start a family. I was 19, what did I know?

A few months ago Bobby had to go see a lawyer about something. He came over later that afternoon, sat on my sofa and said, “this woman is kick ass. She takes no prisoners and she knows her shit.”  What he said kindled a longing in me I had long since suppressed.

That’s who I wanted to be. As a little girl growing up I wanted to be a lawyer, I was going to go to Harvard Law School, following in my grandfather’s footsteps. I always wanted people to say that very thing about me. For the next couple of weeks I kicked around what he had said in my head.

Then I started saying it out loud to friends. To my surprise they were encouraging, they believed I could do it. I could go back to college, finish my bachelors and go to law school. The more I said it out loud the more I began to believe in myself.

It was too late to be a transfer student at nearby university, so I enrolled at the local community college. I actually took a class with them the summer between my freshman and sophomore year. Since I am already on file under my maiden name, to change that I have to take the proof of my name change into the office. I did not go back to my maiden name legally but it just seems fitting to take the classes under my old name. An added bonus from fate.

I was originally supposed to take two classes but had to drop one due to circumstances beyond my control. So starting Thursday I am officially a college student again. I’m nervous and excited. In two days I will walk back into a class room and for the first time in 13 years I will be a student. Now I just have to figure out what to wear!

2 comments

  1. My circumstances were very similar. And starting Monday, I’m officially a college student again. So exciting! Hope your first couple days went well.


  2. Congratulations! I went to community college when my oldest was 5. I got my Associate’s 2 years later. I think I’m now ready to look into getting my Bachelor’s (10 years later!)



Leave a Reply

