h1

Note to self

October 4, 2009

My dear heart-

I know you are hurting. And so for that reason I won’t lecture. I will leave that for another day.

You are a hopeless romantic. You cry at sappy movies. You see the best in people. You trust until it is broken. You give until it is taken for granted. You hope for the best until the worst is realised. You see the glass half full.

And I wouldn’t change that about you. It makes you who you are. It makes you special.

That is the thing I want you to remember most. You are special. You are a catch. You are the mom who volunteers to be the room mom. You are the girl who makes friends with the bank teller. You are the girl who is sitting in the pew on Sunday morning, even if you’re sitting alone. You are the girl who your friends can depend on. You are the girl who hears music in her head and dances in the middle of the grocery store aisle. You are THAT girl.

My dear heart, trust yourself. When there are warning signs – heed them. When you see writing on the wall – read it. When you start to settle – remember where that got you last time.

Because heart, I do not want to see you broken again. I have seen the pain of true heart break. I know what it did to you, to us. I want so much for us. I want to be happy, both of us. I don’t want to be alone forever either but I’m also not willing to settle for anything less than someone who sees us for the special catch we are. I’m grateful we know the truth and can move on.

But for now I will just say I’m sorry you’re hurting my dear heart.

With warm regards,

The brains of this operation

2 comments

  1. I’m sorry you’re hurting. This was beautifully written and good advice for all of us.


  2. Love your imagination and your sense of humor, even when things are bringing you down it still comes out. Sounds like Brains and Heart make a good team, they are good for each other.



Leave a Reply

