h1

You’re a good man Charlie Brown

October 4, 2009

Today I said goodbye to a man I have admired since my youth. Charlie practically built my small towns little league program from the ground up. He served his country in the Army. He was a strong Christian, with a solid faith. He loved his family and he loved his wife.

The service was beautiful. People stood up to tell stories to attest to his character, his daughter in-law spoke of a man who loved.

Then they rolled pictures. And my tears began to roll.

There were pictures of him when he was younger, when he met his wife, when his children were little, when they got married, when his grandchildren were born. Throughout the show what I noticed the most, the genuine smile when he looked at his wife.

That is what strikes me. You can tell me how great his service to his country was, how great his contribution to society was, how much he loved his children and grandchildren. And that is all impressive. But what hits me, what really speaks to me -this man loved his wife.

They were married for 45 years and still he smiled when he looked at her. Their pastor told a story of waiting with Charlie during his wife’s major surgery several months ago. Charlie did not pass the time talking sports – he’s a baseball fanatic – or making small talk, he told the pastor about his wife. He told her stories about them when they were younger, about the kind of mother she was and finally he confessed, “she is my life, I cannot lose her.” He didn’t, instead she lost him, suddenly, with only a few weeks warning. Perhaps God knew it was Charlie who had to leave us first.

As a woman who walked into the service with a hurting heart, I left with hope that out there are men who know how to love. So thank you. You were a good man Charlie Brown.

2 comments

  1. That is a very nice tribute, sounds like he was a wonderful guy. I’m sorry for the loss you and your community, and mostly his family, have suffered.


  2. Very lovely post.

    I’m sorry for your loss.



Leave a Reply

