h1

The inspiration of family

November 30, 2009

This weekend was all about family. Thanksgiving we had the entire family together, Friday we were together again for the afternoon and dinner and then again on Saturday morning for brunch. That is a lot of togetherness and you know what? I love it. I love spending time with my family.

The biggest thing my family does for me – they make me want to be a better woman. While my brothers pick on me for choices I’ve made I know its only because they want better for me. In the romance department, in the job department, in life in general. I have settled for less than I deserve for so long and they want better for me.

When we sit around and have conversation, it’s intelligent conversation. I forget how much that is lacking in my daily life. I don’t have anyone to discuss the market with, or politics with, or anything of any depth. I miss that. I love my friends and wouldn’t trade them from the world but I miss intelligent conversation in my daily life.

I am the only one in my family that doesn’t have a bachelor’s degree and several have been to grad school. Most of them have good jobs, jobs they enjoy, jobs that challenge them. I am the only one who is divorced and the “married ins” are all great and a wonderful addition to our family. I cannot imagine any of the men I’ve dated being able to sit at our table and carry a conversation with my family.

But not one member of my family looks down on me. Not one member of my family spurns me for the bad choices I’ve made. They love me unconditionally. And they make me want better for myself. They make me want to finish my bachelor’s and get a job that challenges me and find a man of great character and work harder and expect more. They inspire me. And this weekend I am thankful for them.

2 comments

  1. This is a great post. I’m glad you have such a good family. It’s nice to know that you are loved for who you are.


  2. That’s what family is all about, glad you had a great trip. Looks like we were in Massachusetts at the same time.



Leave a Reply

